The Kid who “wanted” to run away from home

Teenagers getting estranged from their parents is a natural thing. Even though for many it wasn’t a prominent feeling, almost everyone would have felt a difficulty in expressing our feelings with our parents in our adolescence and early adulthood. I wanted to do many things in life. My ambitions in life change changes with every passing day. Things which interested me yesterday, don’t intrigue me today. When I’m at an important  cross road in life, this attitude doesn’t help me or my parents concern about my future. When they wanted me to give GATE exams, I said GRE; when they finally came to GRE, I shifted to CAT; and when they thought CAT is also a good option, I was like, “I’m not sure whether CAT is the right choice for me, I need more time to think”. Making decisions in life is very difficult for me. The only decisions which I have made with my whole heart in life is not to become a doctor and not make people click ads for my living. People don’t get any erratic than me. Like a kid, I will go after anything which is shinny and triggers my curiosity. I know I can survive with this attitude, but my parents seriously doubt that.

In any parental relationship the generation gap is bound to exist. No matter how hard they try to bridge the gap, they will always fall short. I never misunderstood their intentions, our parents always does things which they believe to be right for us and for our well being. But, sometimes their notion of good for us may be a bit too far from ours. Their playing it safe mentality made me feel restrained. Beyond a point we can’t resist our parents without hurting them, so we should choose to accept their wish against our liking in order not to go against their words. This is the most commonly chosen option. Like many, I wasn’t able to take and run to the destination which was given to me, nor was I able to choose a destination of my choice for me. I’m running in circles. I witnessed my relationship with my parents slowly drifting away. They no longer were the go to people for me. I felt completely lost. But all it took to fix this is a good conversation with my parents about what I think and How I feel. At the end we understood that we both want the same thing for me, at the end of the day we both wanted me to be happy. But, we both seem to have different ideas of happiness and the means to it. But, now at least we both are taking a conscious step to resolve this discrepancy. Now I understood one thing clearly, no amount of money or popularity will be able to make me happy as a few people do, especially my parents. I’m glad that I resolved this thing at the earliest when the damages are at minimum. Now, even though they don’t completely understand what I’m saying at least they understand how I feel about it. That is enough.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.